top of page

DC NOW Welcomes the New D.C. Council 25 Session Councilmembers

Updated: Apr 10, 2023

The D.C. Council 25 session (2023-2024) begins soon. With the departure of D.C. Councilmembers Elissa Silverman (At-Large) and Mary Cheh (Ward three), the D.C. no longer has a majority-female majority. Now, the D.C. Council has eight males and five females.

Congratulations to D.C. Mayor Muriel Bowser, who was just re-elected. She joins only the late former D.C. Mayor Marion Barry as the only people elected to at least three terms as D.C. Mayor.

Congratulations also to DC NOW’s two 2022 primary endorsed incumbent D.C. Councilmembers Brianne Nadeau (Ward one) and Charles Allen (Ward six). Both were re-elected to the D.C. Council this past November.

DC NOW welcomes D.C. Council’s two newest members – D.C. Councilmembers Matthew Frumin (Ward three) and Zachary Parker (Ward five). Long-time D.C. advocate D.C. Councilmember Frumin replaced Cheh. He was an ANC 3E Commissioner and Chair. He also has been active in our community around Wilson High School, the Coalition for DC Public Schools and Communities, the Wilson Ward Three Education Network, the Lisner Louise Dickson Hurt Home, Tenleytown Main Street, the Washington Interfaith Network, Iona, and Teens Run DC. In addition, Frumin also served on D.C.-related task forces and Advisory Councils. He also planned community events, including the Turtle Park Jazz Project. D.C. Councilmember Parker replaced Kenyan McDuffie, who defeated Silverman and is now serving as an At-Large D.C. Councilmember. Parker served on the D.C. State Board of Education, whose colleagues chose him as President.

DC NOW hopes to get meaningful pro-women/pro-girls legislation passed during the new D.C. Council 25 session. Together, meaningful change can happen.


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page